Tuesday, 28 January 2014

Currie and Balerno CC Win the Province Bonspiel

Historic First Win for C&B in 22 Years

Great news for the club as C&B won the Province Bonspiel yesterday - for the first time in 22 years!

Team 1 was Brian Fleming, Andrew Barr, Jenny Barr and Morna Aitken; they played against Gogar Park at 12.00 noon, had a lovely game which was won by 15-1 (the 1 was scored at the final end...).  This was a great start to the day and set the club up well for the overall competition.  It transpired that, had C&B not won the overall competition (any club is only allowed to win one trophy each year) this result would have  qualified the club for the Colin Black Salver for the highest-up single score in the competition.

Team 2 was skipped by Andrew Galloway, with Dave Munro, Andrew Cargill and Joe Barry (standing in as a last minute sub as Betty Gibb called off ill on Sunday). They played Heriots FP at 1600 and won with plus 4 shots. 

Team 3 was John Steven, Katie Wood, Bob Barr and Shona Watt.  By this time, they knew what they had to do when they stepped on the ice at 2000.  Eventually, it came down to a countback against reigning champions, Midcalder CC; C&B won by 1 end!

Many thanks to committee member Andrew Cargill, who had the unenviable task of organising the three teams, a task someone likened to herding cats.  Bit unfair to cats, I thought, but there we are! 
Congratulations to all the club members who took part.  A great result!
Team 3 Bob Barr, John Steven, Shona Watt and Katie Wood pose at Murrayfield with
 the Province Bonspiel Trophy

No comments:

Post a Comment